YETI Conference 2021

Virtual YETI 2021 Dates:
Monday, November 1st: YETI Registration closes
Tuesday, November 30 – Friday, December 3rd:
Virtual YETI Conference
Times are the same each day

7 PM ET/6 PM CT/5 PM MT/4 PM PT/3 PM AK/2 PM HI –
9:30 PM ET/8:30 PM CT/7:30 PM MT/6:30 PM PT/5:30 PM AK/4:30 PM HI

What is YETI?

YETI, one of the strongest programs in the world of bleeding disorders across the US, is an experiential train-the-trainer weekend conference created by PNWBD. Teen programs that effectively address topics around successful transitions into young adulthood can be a wonderful way to build community, increase parent, teen and young adult engagement with your chapter, and get medically essential information to “stick.” But how do we build more than just an event here and there? How do we get teens to come? How do we keep them coming back and eventually transition them into giving back?

The YETI conference was dreamt up and designed by people who believe in the positive impact of quality youth programming, and this immersive weekend workshop will put you directly into the types of experiences that we know result in high impact teen events. Beyond that, bleeding disorder organizations will learn to build a map of how events become a program, and how a program can become a powerful driver of chapter and hemophilia treatment center (HTC) engagement.

YETI also provides for the beginnings of a national network of teens, aged 14 – 20. Currently, there is no real opportunity for teens to gather and develop relationships across state borders. Organizations throughout the US are doing some teen programming but very little is don

e outside of their HTC or chapter boundaries. The young participants will experience an Oregon teen weekend as a part of the Oregon Teen PEAK (Providing Education, Advocacy and Kinship) program.

All attendees will receive a fun YETI Box of goodies for the conference! We hope you join us for an amazing event.

Participants

As always, we encourage each location to have 3 participants:

  • An organization representative (volunteer, organization staff, etc.)
  • An HTC representative
  • A teen from the community
In order to fully participate in the trainings and activities, we strongly encourage that an individual from each category (organization staff, HTC staff, teen) attend YETI. We are working hard to maintain the close knit and highly engaging feel we have built over the past few years despite the program being virtual this year. If your location would like to have more than 3 individuals participate, please contact us at m.mcguiresmith@pnwbd.org. There may be space after all registrations are complete.

Teen Event

Ages (14-20, not yet 21)
One teen member is welcome to attend from each organization. The incoming teens will join the teens of Oregon for a fun-filled weekend! It is preferred that the participating teen be a prominent leader in the local organization and be willing to contribute to the design and creation of teen programs in the future.

 

Subscribe to our quarterly newsletter and stay up to date with all news and events.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.